Life lessons from a North-facing slope

last-rosesI’ve been in the garden today, planting bulbs. Spring will come. I was also thinking about what to write in my blog. Gardening can send me into a bit of a zen-like state if the task at hand isn’t anything too vigorous.

I would say my garden is challenging. It is on a seriously steep north facing slope and gets a lot of shade year round. At this time of year there are also a lot (zillions) of fallen leaves.

I picked these late November roses today, they are ‘Crocus Rose’ a very hardy variety and good for hedges. I don’t have a hedge but 2 of them have survived well in the wind tunnel that is our front garden.

The first year we were here I started clearing leaves at the bottom of the slope where the house is and of course the leaves at the top just blew down and it seemed a never-ending job. Now I just leave them and eventually they settle in 4 or 5 places from where I can more easily collect them. My first zen-like mantra was born. Below are others that have popped into my head over the years.

  1. A fallen leaf still has much to offer the soil
  2. There will always be a last rose of the year whether you notice it or not is up to you.
  3. If you can be bothered to climb the hill the view is clearer
  4. Even if the sun is not shining on you it will be shining on someone, somewhere.
  5. Not everything flourishes in full sun.
  6. It’s the shade that makes the light interesting.
  7. A firm foothold leaves the hands free
  8. Slippery steps need to be taken one at a time.

Okay, I’m not sure what that was about but am not going to edit. I think it’s time to start thinking about getting back to writing about writing.

2/3 of nanopoblano¬† month done. Had I written these posts as a blog post a week that’s the equivalent of 5 months of blogging – that makes me feel much better.

 

Leave a Reply

